1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

lost inspiration and motivation affecting my teaching

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by jewellerygirl, Mar 15, 2011.

1. Hi, I'm having a tough time at work. I seem to have lost all inspiration and motivation. I am in my 4th year of teaching and the buzz has just gone. I think it all started in September when the exam results were poor. We were told that if they don't improve next year there may be jobs at steak. This hasn't been helped by the target grades of students been moved to the top of FFT band D. This has meant that I have students who were on a E grade target now need to get a C. We already have one member off staff in the dept on long term sick with stress since Oct and have had several supply teachers in. My area has been scrapped and I'm now teaching a new subject in which I'm not overly confident. I am also part time and only teach KS4, I also miss all the staff meetings as they are on a day I don't work. This is really affecting my work - I got an inadequate on my performance management obs yesterday due to students not making enough progress in a Y11 revision lesson. I am being put on a 6 week support package but am scared of losing my job. What can I do? Please help