1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Lost and Confused about FE and how to get started :S

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by 700W, Mar 17, 2012.

1. I graduated from a literacy based PGCE in Post Compulsory Education and Training last year. I started off working for a private training company teaching unemployed adults and am now working for an FE college.

You can either complete the course in-service where you secure employment or voluntary hours yourself and then study for the course part-time or you follow a pre-service route which is similar to a school based PGCE as the uni will arrange your placements for you. I completed a pre-service route which I believe made me a much more competent and confident tutor than when I started my first post.

If you complete the pre-service route the funding works the same as studying for a degree, you are entitled to a loan for your tuition fees and living costs and some uni's also offer a grant. If you complete the in-service route you can apply for a £500 grant from the IfL and then make up the remaining fees yourself.

Although there are not as many jobs in sixth form centres with a PCET PGCE you can teach for the prison service, FE colleges, private training providers, charities and community centres etc so there are a lot of opportunities out there.

2. Hi Lost and Confused,

I can't give you an overview, but I have recently been offered a job as a fractional lecturer at an FE college and I can tell you about my own experience in case it is helpful.