1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Lost all confidence due to pay progression

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by justateacher99, Nov 20, 2016.

1. justateacher99

justateacher99 New commenter

I have been teaching for a few years and feel like I have been making progress. My learning walks, observations, student voices, etc. have all but one been rated as good or better. I have had no concerns raised about my ability as a teacher, my targets were met and my evidence for pay rise was checked, however at my pay review the board of governors stated that they felt that my performance management lacked enough evidence for me to progress to the next pay scale and so the decision was being deferred. I was struggling in September with positivity but managed to pick it up after half term. This new information has however just knocked me sideways and I am struggling massively with confidence in my ability and I don't know how to get my positivity back.

pepper5 likes this.
  2. Bajan-night

Bajan-night Occasional commenter

You need to contact your union.

3. dunnocks

dunnocks Star commenter

This is the awful thing about teaching. In no other career is your whole personality and identity so closely associated with the judgments made about you, whilst at the same time the judgments are so random.

This stupid, pointless thing the governors have said is not inn any way related to your ability or dedication. It is related to their own personal perceptions and misconceptions and tick sheets and paperwork and budget and possible unfair and unrepresentative events, such as an individual child holding a grudge, or even just being out of sorts for a moment.