1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Loss of pay for strike. How much?

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by lizlucy, Jul 15, 2011.

1. lizlucy

lizlucy New commenter

I am a part time teacher (0.8fte) and have just received my pay slip to find that I have been deducted the same amount as a full time teacher.
    My union guidelines said
    "For teachers covered by the Burgundy Book
    Deductions from salary for members in maintained schools will be made in line with Section 3, paragraph 3.2 of the Conditions of Service for School Teachers in England and Wales (the 'Burgundy Book'). This specifies a deduction of 1/365 for unpaid leave of absence. Part-time teachers who take strike action will have a salary deduction calculation based on their normal contractual hours for the day of action."
    On the day of the strike I should have attended for a full days teaching but I still think that I should only be deducted 0.8 of a full time teachers salary.
    Are there any other part timers out there who can clarify what their schools did?

2. So, let's get this right...
    .. you are bleating about 0.2 of a day's pay....
    .. as against untold thousands potentially lost in future.
    Looking at the bigger picture, it's a small price to pay, don't you think? [​IMG]
    Part-time teachers who take strike action will have a salary deduction calculation based on their normal contractual hours for the day of action.
    On the day of the strike I should have attended for a full days teaching
    Ergo - full day's deduction!

3. Maths_Mike

Maths_Mike New commenter

It seems to me you have answered your own question

4. lizlucy

lizlucy New commenter