1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

looking into a TA job?

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by fazz123, Jan 23, 2011.

1. i am new to tes having recently discovered it and have been lurking for a while having a read! im hoping i can get some advise please- I am considering a possible move into teaching but not decided as yet however i am fairly positive i would like to work in a school as a TA or LSA and only after that would i be in a position to decide about teacher training. if i like the role of TA/LSA then i would stay (but the money is ****!)
    so my question is - would i be able to get a job as TA without previous exp? i am a law graduate and have very good GCSEs and A levels and have worked mostly in recruitment since graduating. but no exp in schools
    i have a baby now so thats my main reason for wanting a part time role which alot of TA roles seem to be. also what is the difference between LSA and TA - where i live there are lots of LSA jobs but i note that there is no forum dedicated to them??

also how much knowledge of the current curriculum are you expected to have a new TA?

thanks in advance if you reply!

2. i am new to tes having recently discovered it and have been lurking for a while having a read! im hoping i can get some advise please- I am considering a possible move into teaching but not decided as yet however i am fairly positive i would like to work in a school as a TA or LSA and only after that would i be in a position to decide about teacher training. if i like the role of TA/LSA then i would stay (but the money is ****!)