1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Looking for opinions - Computer Science teaching opportunity in the UAE

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by sv591, Dec 16, 2017.

1. sv591

sv591 New commenter

Let me tell you about my situation first.

I am an Indian national and I have an engineering degree and currently pursuing PhD in the UK. I have £16000 debt in form of a loan to be repaid to my family (so yeah in dire need of money).

Recently I was interviewed for a teaching position in UAE. As I did more research about teaching in UAE I am having a dilemma regarding the opportunity.

I don’t know the outcome of the interview yet but I want to have my decision ready when I get to know the outcome. If they decide not to offer the position this won’t be necessary at all but what if they offer the position? - That thought has been making me crazy for past few days.

Let me be a Positive Peter and tell all the good things.
    - Salary - 16,000 AED (£3,300) per month
    - I love teaching and it’s a job and will allow me to pay back the debt.
    - As I am having a hard time finding employment in the UK, I should just take whatever is offered. (Unemployment is partly due to lack of skills and partly due to me requiring visa to work in the UK)

Now let me be a Negative Nathan and pardon me in advance for this rant.
    - I spoke to a couple of teachers in Dubai on LinkedIn and they are like workload is crazy high. The vibe from them was like do it if you don't have anything else - which is not a positive vibe.