1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Looking for modern artists

Discussion in 'Art and design' started by weegoose, Apr 15, 2013.

1. weegoose

weegoose New commenter

I'm a primary teacher looking for some advice about more modern painters. For our topic this term we are doing "2000s" decade and I'm looking for some artists of the time that the children could try to paint in their style like you would do Pop Art for a 1960s topic but I am totally clueless!
    Ideally looking for 3 or 4 painters/painting to be directed towards :)
    Could also be a sculpter as we could use clay for something.
    Thanks!

2. weegoose

weegoose New commenter

I'm a primary teacher looking for some advice about more modern painters. For our topic this term we are doing "2000s" decade and I'm looking for some artists of the time that the children could try to paint in their style like you would do Pop Art for a 1960s topic but I am totally clueless!
    Ideally looking for 3 or 4 painters/painting to be directed towards :)
    Could also be a sculpter as we could use clay for something.
    Thanks!

3. Although a little before the 21st century you could look at Anthony Gormley. He is contemporary but his "Field" sculpture is perfect for younger pupils, even if that specific piece was technically produced prior to the period you are looking for. Julian Opie is also good for younger people. He did those simple Blur portraits and you can use Photo Shop to turn pupils own photos into simple images to work from.