1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Looking for an article for children about saving water/using less electricity in the home

Discussion in 'Primary' started by thedancingqueen, Apr 21, 2011.

1. Hi. I am a trainee teacher and I am teaching a year 5 class unit 5a) persuasive writing, from Tuesday. I have done a lot of my planning for the unit. The school uses hamilton trust english plans to inform their planning so that's what I've done, however I've been told it needs to link to the environment, energy use, sources of energy and recycling. That's the topic work we're doing for the term. For one lesson I have three articles about turning off taps to save water from www.teachitprimary.co.uk which I plan to use, however while these would be suitable for two groups, they are not going to stretch the other two groups in the class so I have been looking for another resource with a similar focus and was hoping someone on here could point me in the right direction. Today, I have been looking for ages for something which would be appropriate however everything I've found is more for teenagers and adults and the children would probably have trouble understanding it. It will be the first lesson on persuasive writing so the children will be given a list of features of persuasive texts and are going to be spotting these features in different articles, discussing why they are used, the effect that they have etc.