1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Looking for a (or some) foreign language teacher in the UK to answer some questions.

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by dghavinga, Sep 19, 2018.

1. dghavinga

dghavinga New commenter

I’m an English teacher in the Netherlands and I’m thinking about moving to the UK. Over there, I would also like to be an foreign language teacher (I also speak German and French and I’m learning Spanish) and now I’m wondering what that’s all about. All my pupils fully understand the importance of English, as you can’t really do without in the Netherlands, so I have a couple of questions about objectives over there.

1. Why is a second language taught
    2. Do students think it’s important, why and why not.
    3. What are your resources. Book? Do you also design your own work sheets?
    4. How important is the target language in your classroom, do you speak it a lot?
    5. Is there a main focus in your lessons? Speaking, writing, reading, listening, grammar, vocabulary.
    6. Do you use the Common European Framework of Reference or a similar framework and to what extent.
    7. How important is testing. Formative, summative?
    8. Workload, both for you and pupils.
    9. Anything you can add!
    That should do for now, thanks so much if anyone answers!

Cheers,
    Gerdien

2. never_expect_anything

never_expect_anything Occasional commenter

Hi. I'll try to answer honestly, without wanting to deter you from being an MFL teacher in a UK school...