1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Long term supply

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by laustokes760, Dec 12, 2015.

1. laustokes760

laustokes760 New commenter

I am quite new to supply teaching. I have been doing it like three weeks and I am paid 110 per day on day-to-ay.I have been offered a supply position in Maths at one of the schools I use to work in for initially one month and a half but it would probably be extended. I would like to know how much pay I should request to my agency considering the position will involve marking and planning. Thanks.

2. peakster

peakster Star commenter

As much as you can negotiate (seriously ...I'm not being flippant)

I did two long term placements two years ago and got about £400 a week, I was happy with that but I reckon I could have got a bit more if I'd asked.

I did all the planning and marking too as well as a parents evening and other stuff - It got me a permanent position elsewhere in the end so was worth it.

3. Twinklefoottoe

Twinklefoottoe Senior commenter

You are being completely ripped off being paid £110 a day. On the plus side, the supply agency personnel will be chinking their champagne classes this Christmas - if they have lots of teachers like you on the books, it will be big bonuses all round.