1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Long-term sickness dilemma

Discussion in 'Health and wellbeing' started by 1970devon, Apr 27, 2018.

1. 1970devon

1970devon Occasional commenter

I've been teaching for nearly 25 yrs in various roles and am currently part time - only 2 days per week for the past 9 years whilst my children were young. I've got a long term condition that flares up when stressed but since new year I've had a range of different illnesses which needed me to be signed off for 8 weeks. During that time I had a second absence meeting with support of union. I've been back in work since Easter and unfortunately I am still unwell. I went to GP who suggested more rest was needed but I struggled on but have now taken advice of GP and been signed off for another 2 weeks initially. I'm really worried about my long term health, employment and finances. Under advice from union I've been very honest with my head but they now appear very dismissive and I'm awaiting a 3rd absence meeting. In all this time I've not been contacted by OH despite asking for this. The stress is aggravating my other condition and as yet I'm unsure whether the current condition is short term or possibly chronic. Has anyone any advice please? If this illness continues will I be dismissed or possibly eligible for early retirement? I've loved teaching but I know it aggravates my one condition, I only teach 2 days a week but that income is essential for our household. In reality I need to be working more not less. So frustrated and feeling so unwell.

2. stephenwaters

stephenwaters New commenter