1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Literature on children's perceptions of health and wellbeing

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by clogmeisje, Jun 21, 2010.

1. Hi, I am studying children's perceptions of health and wellbeing, can anyone point me in the right direction for some literature on this topic.
    Thanks

2. Hi, I am studying children's perceptions of health and wellbeing, can anyone point me in the right direction for some literature on this topic.
    Thanks

3. inky

inky Lead commenter

What age groups are you considering? I'm afraid I can't point you towards any books or papers but, thinking back to when I was 7 [nearly 50 yrs ago [​IMG] ] I think it was very basic:

eat your greens
    eat apples
    have enough sleep
    brush your teeth
    wash your hands

Actually, unless I was ill I didn't give it much thought. Ill health around me [children in calipers, elderly relations' failing health etc] was something taken for granted, though I did feel sympathy.
    There were a few children at my primary school who looked grubby and malnourished. Some were my mates but, to be horribly honest, you tended to give smelly children a wide berth.
    Obesity amongst children was Billy Bunter to me, I'm afraid, since I rarely saw it in real life. Asthma I only heard about when a friend, a farmer's son, had to go to boarding school because his own home made him ill. I felt terrribly sorry for him.
    My favourite comic, Judy, had its share of plucky 'crippled' or blind heroines who overcame their disability/cruel guardians/and uncomprehending world to achieve success and independence. We all found these tales uplifting - especially the ones with cruel guardians, of course.