1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Literacy planning... PLEASE HELP!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by scott209, Sep 10, 2011.

1. scott209

scott209 New commenter

Ok, so i'm in my second year of teaching now and still not completely confident about planning literacy.

A few things that puzzle me, are sentence, word and text level objectives. I normally plan my literacy in the following way:

1) identify which unit I am going to teach.
    2) see what pupils are expected to already know
    3) look at the outcomes and select an assessment focus to set targets
    4) plan to the phases, using the teaching sequences as help, and also using my own creativity.

In addition to my normal literacy lessons, i then do guided reading each day after lunch. this includes five stations, which cover guided reading, guided writing, handwriting and spelling.

My confusion is on the strands and the word/sentence and text level objectives. Do i have to include these in my literacy lessons, or does my guided reading sessions cover this? for example, my spelling activities are in line with the support for spelling, and when we do guided writing, it's normally inline with the grammar for writing document.

If I am to plan my word/sentence and text level work in my main literacy sessions, does anyone have any good planning templates, as the school is flexible at allowing us to use our own templates. Please email scottroberts209@hotmail.com

Thanks for your help :)

2. scott209

scott209 New commenter

Ok, so i'm in my second year of teaching now and still not completely confident about planning literacy.