1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Life Teaching at a Boarding School

Discussion in 'Personal' started by ntiwari, May 13, 2011.

1. Hello all,
    First-time poster, long-time stalker on the TES forums here. Apologies if this post is under the wrong category, but the "accommodation" section of the forums seemed to be purely adverts for renting/selling houses.
    Although I'm a teacher at an international school in India, I'm sure the advice you can give me is universal. I'm to start at a boarding school in June and was just wondering if others on here with experience in such a setting can give me an idea of what life is like teaching at a boarding school.
    I personally was at boarding school myself when a child; it was not a happy experience. However, the school I'm headed to is very different from where I went to: it's an international school, facilties and infrastructure are good overall, and so on. Most of the teachers working at the school live in the town itself; just a couple of house parents and a few administrative and service staff live on campus with the children. From what I gather the job can be a lonely one, which of course I plan to bravely combat with lots of mucking about on the Internet in the evenings and reading. The town isn't very far off from the school, but public transportation isn't very good or reliable in that area, so I would actually be spending most of my time on campus. Naturally a bit anxious about being overwhelmed by effectively living AT the workplace, and so on.