1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

life after teaching?

Discussion in 'Personal' started by BGSG9, Feb 11, 2020.

1. BGSG9

BGSG9 New commenter

Hi all, so as much as I love teaching, I have reached that point where I want to stop doing it. I have been teaching for 5 years and the main reason why I want to quit is simply, poor behaviour. I have had enough of teenagers not wanting to learn, motivational issues, etc etc. You might think this isn't enough of a reason but I am totally drained and have stopped loving what I do. I feel like this is not a long term career for me, and I want to make a move, but I am not sure what to do. I would love to carry on teaching but I dont know how or where. Universities aren't an easy option, especially with brexit these days, and I dont see much more future for an MFL teacher like me. Anyone who is in the same situation and could lend me a hand? P.S. I'm a bit desperate so I have considered going to a careers advisor and see how to get out of this. People keep saying it's very difficult to change careers after being a languages teacher and so I am willing to invest money on trying to see the light at the end of the tunnel. All comments appreciated. Thank you and have a lovely day!

2. oldsomeman

oldsomeman Star commenter

Could you not change schools? Not all pupils in all schools are misbehaved.

3. oldsomeman

oldsomeman Star commenter

There are lots of opportunities in the city or agencies for language skills, eg the police or the banks or other such institutions dealing with other countries.

4. Aquamarina1234

Aquamarina1234 Star commenter