1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Levelling - I hate it!

Discussion in 'Primary' started by impulce, Jan 13, 2011.

1. Im in my third year of teaching and always start to stress when Im asked for assessment data.
    I
    try to be completely honest in my levelling but am aware children need
    to make so much progress, but not jump too high incase we then set next
    years teachers up to fail, etc etc.
    Last year I had apparently
    over-levelled my Y1s so this year I was cautious - and apparently
    under-levelled them and created concern that alot of our Y1s wont make
    L2 by the end of KS1.
    As I said i try to just be honest - but always have that annoying awareness that this is a numbers game! I hate it. We also have a myriad of assessment documents - APP sheets, school-designed target setting sheets etc and they all seem to vary in what they expect.
    Does
    anyone else have the same concern or do you just level as honestly as
    possible and then forget about the rest safe knowing you can justify
    it?

2. Im in my third year of teaching and always start to stress when Im asked for assessment data.
    I
    try to be completely honest in my levelling but am aware children need
    to make so much progress, but not jump too high incase we then set next
    years teachers up to fail, etc etc.
    Last year I had apparently
    over-levelled my Y1s so this year I was cautious - and apparently
    under-levelled them and created concern that alot of our Y1s wont make
    L2 by the end of KS1.