1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Levelling childrens work with a scribe

Discussion in 'Primary' started by 22Bex, Apr 15, 2012.

1. Hi there, wondering if anyone can help me? I am a year 6 teacher and I have 3 children in my class all SA+ or SEN and when they write independently they barely scrape a 2c, however when they have a scribe they are capable of getting mid to high level 3. So which do I use for my teacher assessment levels? No one in my school has really gone down the track of having a scribe so there is no platform to start from - any help would be gratefully appreciated!

2. minnieminx

minnieminx New commenter

Are you sure it is them getting the 3, not the person scribing? What makes the difference? Really the only difference a scribe should make is with handwriting.

If they are year 6, you would be well advised to give them the level that they achieve all by themselves. Secondary schools do not want children arriving who are described as being a 3a, when actually they are a 2c!

3. Twinkles

Twinkles New commenter

The problem I've had with using scribes is that they tend to write what they 'know' the child means rather than the exact words that the child says, including grammatical errors, omissions and so on. It's also really difficult not to add correct punctuation, or lead the child to putting it in by suggestion when you're scribing for them.

4. zugthebug

zugthebug New commenter