1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Letters and Sounds - How do you teach it?????

Discussion in 'Primary' started by lilyput, Oct 4, 2008.

1. Hi everyone

I'm doing my masters and looking at how to teach the letters and sounds programme. Our LEA is demanding that we teach to whole class but this year I have a VERY wide variety of ability...some can read and some can only just speak. I intend to deliver the L & S in 3 groups according to ability and then assess after the initial action research period is over (about 6 - 7 weeks).

I would be really grateful for any comments or opinions to add to my research.

Many thanks.

2. sunshinesarah

sunshinesarah New commenter

Hi i am an early years teacher starting at the beginning of the Letters and Sounds programme- Phase 1 aspect 1-environmental sounds. I teach this through small groups to allow all children the oppotunity to join in. Currently i am using mixed ability groups as a have a high percentage of EAL children with very linited English. Therefore, there are children within each group to model language.

Hope this helps

3. We have assessed and split the whole school into different ability groups ( we are only a small school so not as bad as it sounds!) and each group is taught the phase the need ( I am taking phase 5 and have children from yr1 to yr 5) Each group has 4 x20 minute sessions each week.

4. <font face="Times New Roman" size="3">Thanks for the replies. That's very helpful. Just wondered...have any other LEAs given 'instructions' on whether or not to teach to whole class/differentiated groups?</font>