1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Letter to PP parents offering free instrumental tuition

Discussion in 'Music' started by Emistar86, Aug 31, 2017.

1. Emistar86

Emistar86 New commenter

Hi,

My school have given me a day a week to work with pupil premium where I was thinking of offering them free instrumental lessons in small groups. Firstly, I need to send a letter to the parents to offer this; any suggestions of how to word it, also, if there's anything else that would be better for pupil premium children I'm up for suggestions! I am a music teacher so music related please!

Thank you in advance,
    Emily

2. muso2

muso2 Occasional commenter Community helper

Are you working in a primary or secondary setting, and what instrument(s) are you proposing to teach? Or are you involving other peri teachers?

3. Emistar86

Emistar86 New commenter

Secondary; I would actually like to involve local feeder schools somehow too though.

I am going to teach them myself, I used to be a peri before getting into classroom so I've taught a multitude of instruments! In terms of what we've got in school may determine differently though, we have ukulele, guitar, keyboard, clarinet, flute, some rusty looking cornets, trumpets and trombones, violin, cello and bass. They won't be able to take them home though as they're not all in high quantity plus I'll need them in class lessons.

Cheers,
    Emily

4. HMLDN36

HMLDN36 New commenter

Hi Emily,