1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Letter of Application help ASAP, please

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by may2008, Mar 14, 2009.

1. Hi, I am currently applying for a job and they have asked me to
    complete an application form and covering letter. They state that if
    you are a new entrant to the proffession please make sure your letter
    of application addresses the aspects of job description - it is not a
    good idea to use your personal statement for this purpose! I have wrote
    my personal statement linked parts to the school, however, I'm unsure
    what to put ina letter of application as I do not want to repeat my
    self! Also I have no idea how to set one out...this is my first time
    applying for a job and I'm struggling to get my head round it. Can
    anyone help me please!

2. Hi, I am currently applying for a job and they have asked me to
    complete an application form and covering letter. They state that if
    you are a new entrant to the proffession please make sure your letter
    of application addresses the aspects of job description - it is not a
    good idea to use your personal statement for this purpose! I have wrote
    my personal statement linked parts to the school, however, I'm unsure
    what to put ina letter of application as I do not want to repeat my
    self! Also I have no idea how to set one out...this is my first time
    applying for a job and I'm struggling to get my head round it. Can
    anyone help me please!

3. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

This is a common source of confusion - it's not just you! Basically there are three things:
    • A personal statement.
    • A letter of application
    • A covering letter