1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Let's petition the new education sectretary, Mr Williamson!

Discussion in 'Education news' started by tandemtinker, Jul 28, 2019.

1. tandemtinker

tandemtinker New commenter

At a recent review by my headteacher, I was strongly advised to improve my weekly/daily planning! I'm a Y6 teacher of many years; the point of discussion centred on my teaching of "angles on a straight line and reflex- angles around a central point"...…..a maths' topic I've covered 100s of times. The head asked me where the starting point was to the lesson and why I hadn't written down questions I would ask the children. Surely , Mr Williamson, experienced teachers don't have to write verbatim lesson plans!...yes,NQTs should be asked to, as they are starting out, but, with over 35 years of teaching, I shouldn't have to prove I'll teach the children that there are 180 degrees on a straight line! Yes, I took the non-aggressive stance and agreed that I would expand my planning in September! How I'll fit it in, what with my 3- colour pen marking of everything the Y6s complete, I really don't know! Let us, (experienced staff,) get on with straight forward teaching rather than the endless bureaucracy we are now faced with, Mr Education Secretary! Please!!

2. gainly

gainly Senior commenter

It sounds more like an idiot HT than something to petition the education secretary about. I'm sure he has more important things to worry about such as what to feed his pet tarantula.

Laphroig and schoolsout4summer like this.
  3. a1976

a1976 Occasional commenter

My thoughts exactly.

4. lunarita

lunarita Established commenter