1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Lesson-Planner Needed . . . .

Discussion in 'Tes Authors' Group' started by JosieWhitehead, Jan 25, 2017.

1. JosieWhitehead

JosieWhitehead Star commenter

I'm a retired teacher - yes - but in my retirement and encouraged greatly by children I met in my local primary school and whom I visited weekly, I've been led into a completely new career. I'll tell you what it is: The children I met (5 and 6 year olds) were SO very disappointed one day and told me it was because of "poetry" and the poem they'd just had in English was shown to me. It did nothing at all to enthral them with children's poetry and I remembered the wonderful classic poets who captured my imagination heart and soul with their wonderful rhyming poems, written with words that danced across the page with perfect metre, and the imagery they used which brought their words to life. And so I, who had never been to creative writing classes, offered to write a poem for them. They were more than delighted and each week, each year and with each new class I was asked to write more and more. I had 344 of my 400 poems chosen by teachers for publication in 2010. You can't buy them now because the publisher retired and sold his business to people who don't publish children's poetry. But my poems are all on five huge internet websites and they go into 188 countries of the world. I know that teachers would love to have these poems incorporated into lesson plans and I'd love to work with an experienced lesson-planner who will use them. You can see the poems are popular on this website too. Please do contact me if you'd like to work with me on this project. Thanks a million.

2. vuvuzela