1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Lesson Observation as PPA teacher?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by libby77, Nov 14, 2015.

1. libby77

libby77 Occasional commenter

Can anyone help. I'm currently in role as a PPA teacher. I have been a class teacher for 10 years. My confidence has been decimated due to poor management (most will understand). I have been observed as a class teacher and had outstanding in this school. I have been in role for a couple of weeks now (after being off with diagnosed anxiety) and have been told I'm not allowed to be involved in planning at present as I don't know the children! (15 classes of them). I have also been told I have a lesson observation in a couple of weeks that will be graded.

I don't know how I can be graded when I'm not allowed to be involved in planning or create my own class routines as I have to strictly follow everyone else's (I'm being assessed on that too!). I'm not differentiating either. It's all what's given to me. I obviously don't really know the children's names as I see them once a week and then I'm trying to learn another 30 children's names an hour or so later! It's causing me alot of stress. I have asked the head twice in writing for advice but have had no response?

Anyone help?

Thank you

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Another e-mail for you to send. I've just written one for you on the other thread. CC it to Head's secretary

Dear Headteacher

I understand that I shall be having a lesson observation in a few weeks' time with one of my 15 classes.