1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Lesson objective vs. learning outcome - who can settle this for me once and for all?!

Discussion in 'Assessment' started by anon874, Nov 15, 2009.

1. Hi everyone,
    I'm a trainee and I'm being increasing confused by lesson objectives and learning outcomes.
    The head of department (MFL) insists that the <u>lesson objective</u> be differentiated, something like this:
    1. To recognise 10 words to do with XXXX.
    2. To use 10 words to do XXXX in your own sentences
    3. To use 10 words to do with XXXX in extended sentences.
    The pupils then chose an objective to work towards, get on with some tasks, then in the plenary they prove which one they've met by being able to answer questions/translate sentences.
    However, when I was visiting another school and talking to someone about AFL and lesson objectives, s/he gave me a lesson plan with one overall lesson objective (General Studies):
    To look at tensions with an emphasis on youth culture
    And the <u>learning outcome</u> was differentiated:
    ALL: To be able to talk about an area of conflict
    MOST: To be able to reach a balanced view regarding solutions
    SOME: To understand and recognise the wider implications for society in the future.
    Whilst it's hard to compare these since they are at different levels and for different subjects, my HoD says a <u>leaning outcome</u> is whatever the pupils produce using the approiate knowledge (eg. a diary entry, an essay, a poster).
    Is there a right or a wrong answer? Is it open to intpretation and varies school to school?