1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Lesson ‘Drop In’ Feedback

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by pleasemiss__, Oct 19, 2018.

1. pleasemiss__

pleasemiss__ Occasional commenter

I feel so beaten down by supposedly ‘supportive’ feedback / criticism. I’ve been working as a teacher for nearly 10 years, have always been graded as good or outstanding and in the space of two months at my new school (which is RI, in Ofsted terms), through constant learning walks and ‘supportive’ drop ins, my ability to do this job is being questioned. My confidence has been bulldozed. I feel like... I’m nothing. After sobbing in the toilets at work, and ending the half term in utter despair, I drove down my usual country lane on my way home. On the other side of the road was an oncoming lorry. Thoughts of veering towards it crossed my mind. What is happening to me? This isn’t what I signed up for.

Has this happened to anyone else? I don’t know if I’m talking sense.

2. silversnapdragon

silversnapdragon New commenter

You need to make sure you look after yourself. Definitely take some time off.

3. Grandsire

Grandsire Star commenter

Yes, I know exactly what you’re experiencing. I’ve been there, word for word, pretty much... and it’s scary. Get help quickly: speak to your GP - sit in the waiting room until they find someone to see you, if necessary - and explain what you’ve been going through, and what thoughts have gone through your head. You’re unwell, and it’s being caused by your workplace environment. Sadly, you won’t be the first teacher they’ve seen like this. Help is available - and speak to your union too.