1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Left UK after PGCE to teach ESL for 3 years now want to return

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by dbrady8105, Feb 8, 2019.

1. MeddlingWizard

MeddlingWizard New commenter

I have a History degree and did my PGCE in 2016. I then moved to Spain in the September of that year and did a CELTA in Madrid. I've been teaching ESL in Spain ever since and this is my third year teaching here.

Now I want to go back to teaching history and hopefuly get a job in an international school. I don't care where and understand that the school that may hire me wouldn't necessarily be considered 'good'. But the problem is I don't know how attractive I'll be to international schools since my PGCE is now three years old. On the other hand maybe the three years doing ESL will have some value to them? Or will the strength of the PGCE alone be enough to at least get a job in less than 'good' schools? I'm not picky (but would have a preference for Europe).

I'm also debating whether to go back to the UK and endure a living hell to get my NQT year and then applying to international schools after that. Thanks.

2. february31st

february31st Established commenter

I would just send out your cv and find a few employment agents to sign up with, some schools will take staff who barely have a pulse.

Look for hardship countries where it is difficult to attract teachers, Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar and China.

grdwdgrrrl likes this.
  3. Ne11y

Ne11y Occasional commenter