1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Leaving Teaching

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by ak0344, Jan 30, 2019.

1. ak0344

ak0344 New commenter

Hello,

I am looking for some advice and guidance.

I'm 30 and have been in teaching for just over 6 years, working mainly in the FE sector. I have a Computing degree and an FE PGCE. I enjoy aspects of teaching, as I'm sure many of us do, but find the 'red tape' and 'audit' culture extremely frustrating and demotivating. There has also been continuous redundancy talk at every place I work, which does not offer any more job confidence or security.

As many of us often do, I find myself working well into the night, either marking or prepping for teaching of new content (mixture of A-Level and BTEC's, with forever changing subject specifics). I find it frustrating that I am unable to focus on a particular aspect of the subject, to improve my overall quality and confidence with my teaching, and feel like I am doing a lot of surface learning, which doesn't benefit me or the students. The anxiety that is paired with this often leads to sleepless nights and unenjoyable lessons.

I am sure I could go on...

Anyway, I would like to know if anyone has any advice RE options outside of teaching.

Two things are important to me: job satisfaction and money. Unfortunately for the latter, it really does take more of a precedence that I would like it to, but bills need to be paid. I would like to earn a reasonable amount of money, but it is not massively important.

I have a good range of technical skills, specifically related to programming and feel like I could confidently approach a job along those lines, but wonder what my opportunities for success are?