1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Leaving teaching - what are my options

Discussion in 'Health and wellbeing' started by mie_chivs, Jan 10, 2012.

1. Hi everyone,
    I was just wondering if you could all help me out a bit. I am having a really rubbish time at my school at the moment, but have been considering leaving teaching for a while now. Ive fallen out of love with teaching, I find it too stressful, I barely get a weekend and Im fed up of all the politics that goes along with teaching - ofsted, pay, pension etc. I want a job that I can have more of a life outside of.
    I have a degree in Primary Education with English and I do like being with the children, but I have other passions as well. I love cooking and baking and I like organising people, things and events. The problem I have is I NEED an income. My boyfriend has a teaching job, but is only in his first year, so isnt on too much. We have a mortgage and are getting married in the summer, so just upping and leaving my job is not an option.
    I dont mind taking a small pay cut (no less than £20,000 really), and would really like to use the skills I have aquired, but that I am also passionate about and will enjoy. I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice as to what job I could go into. I am always willing to learn new skills, but as I have said, I cannot afford to quit my job to learn new skills.
    Please please help me if you have any ideas! My time teaching has come to an end and the sooner I can leave, the better! Thank you!

2. Hi everyone,