1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Leaving teaching? Any success stories?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by foxymox, Jan 17, 2012.

1. Hi, I've been a primary school teacher for 20 years, am now a class based deputy head and am regularly judged as outstanding in my teaching.
    However, for months now I've felt that I can't go on. I love teaching but find the relentlessness of the paperwork and marking exhausting. After a long day at work, the last thing I want to do is sit and mark, plan etc. Yet I understand that this is essential in order to do the job properly. I put my heart and soul into it during the day but I'm just too knackered in the evening!!! The thought of doing this for another 20 years fills me with dread. I also realise I'm not alone in feeling like this [​IMG]
    I just wondered whether anyone has taken the plunge. If so, what did you do? And is the grass greener?

2. Jen g

Jen g New commenter

I know what you mean, I will be watching this post with interest. Best of luck

3. QFE

QFE New commenter

Not greener perhaps, but certainly less stressful. I made the jump a while back. Still follow TES with interest as I have many friends and family still in education. For me it was the right thing to do - for many reasons.

Being a class based Deputy is a pig, but given the current economic situation, I'd try fro a change of role first - advisory teacher? If you have a good relationship with your head, I'd have a long chat with them. If they have any consideration for succession planning they will take you very seriously.