1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Leaving teaching (another post!)

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by nuclearlaces, Jan 13, 2016.

1. nuclearlaces

nuclearlaces New commenter

Hi everyone, please excuse me if this post is in the wrong place but I have only just joined and am getting used to things.

I have been a lecturer for just under 7 years, moving in to teaching after being a IT technician at a college straight out of uni.

I have recently changed college as the management of my previous college were clueless bullies (told off for wearing jeans and leaving 5 mins before the end of the day!). The new college is ok but it's the same rigmarole everywhere you, as you are all aware, funding, attendance, achievement, etc.

My tipping point came when a student at my previous college called me the 'c' word and I was still expected to support the learner through his course and help him achieve. That was the moment teaching ended for me, obviously I still have bills so that's why I thought a new place would be a little change.

However long term I would still like to leave as I want a job where I am treated like an adult. I have enough IT skills in web development, software development and IT support to help me teach but nothing to help me get back into industry. I've applied at lots of places and not been shortlisted for anything but teaching job. Obviously I am aware I will have to drop my salary but any tips for breaking in to IT with little "real world" experience?

Finally, I would never recommend anyone joins teaching, in my opinion I have not found anything positive to say about it as everything new we are hit with just negates the positives in my eyes.

2. Middlemarch