1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Leaving date

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by Mrjackuk, Feb 29, 2016.

1. Mrjackuk

Mrjackuk New commenter

New to TES forums and this is my first post as I really need some help with this. Never had an issue before but now really need some advice...

I have been teaching for 15 years. 14 and a half of them in a different county - I have recently moved county (to Nottinghamshire) and schools after spending the first 14.5 years in another school - where I was an outstanding teacher and leader, respected by the school community and enjoyed every second of my career.

I made a mistake in moving school in that the ethos does not match my own principles (nor anyone else's that work in the school I work in now.) I have jumped through every hoop and have until this past week been an outstanding practitioner and leader in this new school. A week ago, I gained employment at another school which seems to closely my principles and ethos. No offence to the school I work in, things work differently in every school and for different situations, and I have done everything asked of me (and more) to the point of the head offering me promotion already. Before I found another job…