1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Leaving and best work options?

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by handsolo, Dec 30, 2015.

1. handsolo

handsolo New commenter

Dear Theo, just a quick request for work ideas and advice, after deciding to leave teaching - my circumstances as follows:

I've been teaching for four years and this is my fifth. If I was to remain in teaching my next step would be HoD, which appeals to an extent but I'm certain I do not want to progress into SLT roles. Furthermore the pressure is not for me and I've been wanting to move into Environmental Management for a while (before I went into teaching in fact). Despite the desire to move into Environmental Management, which will require further study to gain a MSc part-time for 2 years, I teach media at GCSE and Sixth-Form with a bit of IT. I'm looking to leave at Easter, since this will give me enough time to get settled in the job before studies start in Sept. I teach media because I studied it for my degree and IT due to my work experience; before training to be a teacher I worked as an Office and Facilities manager.

With this past office experience (3 years) I assume it would not be too difficult to find work at Easter in admin/office or facilities management, ideally in a company with an environmental interest, which I can do alongside the MSc studies in September. Alternatively I could work in supply teaching. I'm based in London and before being a full media teacher I was half English teacher too, for my first two years.