1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Leaving a Maths Leader post after a year.

Discussion in 'Primary' started by superewok, Mar 15, 2012.

1. superewok

superewok New commenter

Apologies for the length of this post in advance and the lack of formatting... I have been teaching for four years - two in Year 5 and two in Year 6 (I am in my fourth year). I spent my first three years teaching in a tough inner city London school and loved it. I obviously started as an NQT and then in my third year (and first in Year 6) I became ICT Co-Ordinator. I began thinking of TLRs and to cut a long story short, I got a job at a school in Essex as a Maths Leader with TLR 2. I don't regret this as such, but I feel like I cannot spend another year in this school for a number of reasons. First of all the management is very poor and the communication is non-existent. The leadership set up is very unconventional and is ineffective. Teaching is being observed two or three times a week which is damaging staff morale but the headteacher feels this is important as Ofsted is imminent and we are satisfactory (the head has cried about feeling betrayed in staff meetings when staff are talking about their disgruntlement with SMT, which made people feel uncomfortable and awkward.) Also, I miss London so much, in a way I never thought I would. I felt at the forefront of education, with incredible ICT ideas, thoughtful and meaningful INSET and effective CPD. At this school, there is none of this and it is simply plodding along. I feel redundant in a two hour INSET on 'What is success criteria?' I am a good - outstanding teacher and feel a little lost within this school. Don't get me wrong, I have learned a lot this year. A