1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice
  3. The Teacher Q&A will be closing soon.

If you have any information that you would like to keep or refer to in the future please can you copy and paste the information to a format suitable for you to save or take screen shots of the questions and responses you are interested in.

Don’t forget you can still use the rest of the forums on theTes Community to post questions and get the advice, help and support you require from your peers for all your teaching needs.

Dismiss Notice

Leave of Absence HELP!

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by magpie1512, Nov 6, 2018.

1. magpie1512

magpie1512 New commenter

Hi all,
    I'm in my second year of being at a new school. I am a classroom teacher with no TLR responsibility, although I do have GCSE classes.

I have been offered an amazing opportunity over the Easter Holidays next year to travel to Australia and take part in an Pagan Arts Festival (having successfully applied and been awarded a grant for travel, accommodation, and supplies to create a large scale sculpture) and have also been offered the opportunity to teach a few lessons in the local area.

Obviously, I am going to take this opportunity with both hands! I'm just wondering what the general feeling would be about asking for additional time to be able to travel out to Australia (maybe 3 days).

I'm totally not holding my breath- but it would make the whole thing much more affordable and give me time to teach out there too - just to clarify none of this is paid work.