1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Learning sustainable development through music in secondary schools

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by Evacheng, Mar 3, 2012.

1. I am a PhD student at Brunel University. My current research project is about ‘Learning sustainable development through music in British secondary schools’.
    What I am working now is trying to identify the current situation of using music to promote sustainble development in England's secondary schools. Could you help me answer the following questions, which may take you less than 10 minutes. I will be grateful if I can get your feedback here or in my email (yusi.cheng@brunel.ac.uk).
    1. Have you heard of some secondary schools that use music as an instrument to extend young people’s learning on sustainable development? Do you know how did they do that? And can you tell me the name of those schools?
    2. Have you heard of some secondary schools or music teachers that incorporate sustainable development in KS3 music curriculum? Do you know how did they do that? And can you tell me the name of those schools?

Thank you for your time. I am looking forward to your reply.

2. blazer

blazer Star commenter

I'm sorry but I don't really understand what you mean. Presumably schools where they make their own instruments out of recycled materials?

3. Sorry for my unclear description.
    The most often-quoted and widely recognized definiton of 'sustainable development' (SD) is: 'a development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs'. The field of SD includes three parts: environmental development, economic development and social development.