1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Learning Support Teacher

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by jennifermd25, Jul 15, 2016.

1. jennifermd25

jennifermd25 New commenter

Hi all,

I am a special education teacher with my MA and have taught in the US public school system (high poverty, inner city districts) for 15 years. I am taking my first leap into the international school sector! I am excited although a bit daunted as I took a position in Scandinavia and the taxes/rent/costs are high. I am realistic about the fact I won't save much money but am also curious about a few things, hoping some forum members with more experience can help.

1. What can I expect for the first few weeks of school? I am new to the PYP program and I know that special education in the international sector will be much different than what I have done in the states. Any advice on fun activities or first weeks of school activities for the students that might align to this curriculum?

2. I've been a little disturbed to read on these forums that when you return to US or UK the schools there do not view this experience abroad as a positive? I would think this would look great on a resume but I guess I might be mistaken. Thoughts?

3. I am very nervous about the high taxes in Denmark and want to make sure I am not being double taxed, any US residents have any advice on this? Obv I will be hiring a professional to do my taxes this year so I don't make any mistakes.