1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

learning objective - please help

Discussion in 'Primary' started by taspat, Jan 9, 2011.

1. <font size="3">Hi I am a student teacher and hoping somebody can give me some advice please. I am currently teaching year 4 children the English narrative unit stories with a historical setting and we are looking at stories set in ancient Roman times. </font><font size="3"> </font><font size="3">For one of the lessons, the children will watch an extract from the Roman mysteries DVD and make notes on how they can tell it is set in Roman times e.g. clothing, music and scenery . The learning objective from the framework is "To understand how differences in time and place are represented." </font> <font size="3">I am struggling trying to phrase this in child friendly speak. I have come up with this - "I can watch a DVD extract and find the evidence which shows that it has been set in ancient Roman times." Do you think this is ok?
    Could somebody please help me with how to improve the main activity and learning objective?
    Thank you

2. Sorry, I had put paragraphs in but they seem to have disappeared!

3. I would have
    'I can find evidence from a DVD that show it's set in Roman times'
    just because it's a bit shorter if they have to copy it out.
    Also, your main activity doesn't seem to link to your LO. Your Lo was for the children to learn to find evidence from a DVD but then in your main activity you're asking them to find similarities and differences or write a character profile or write sentences.
    What do you want the children to learn in the lesson?

4. How about:

Can I use observations to say how I know a DVD has been set in Ancient Roman times?