1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Learning objective every lesson?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by angrypixie, Feb 17, 2020.

1. angrypixie

angrypixie New commenter

I went into work today at half term and prepared about 5 powerpoints for my year 9 lessons. It took me most of the day. However, I know that this work is enought to last them the whole half term. Do you have LOs for every lesson or do you find that some can last a week? Based on what I did today would mean that I would have to work everyday every holiday to prepare effectively. I have been a teacher for over 30 years and only just going back to it. Only teaching a few lessons a week at the mo (working as an LSA) but likely to be asked to do 3 days a week next year.As an English teacher I don't feel I can manage unless I am fully planned for every half term so that my working week which I plan to make 4 days, can be used for marking, etc.Am I going mad or is this the reality of my workload?

2. Lalex123

Lalex123 Occasional commenter

We used to have a big question (a learning objective that lasted per half term or project) and then success criteria that changed for each lesson.

In my new school we just have learning objectives but many of my lessons are similar to the old format due to the nature of my subject. No one seems to mind because the success criteria are differentiated and show clear logical progression for students.

install and phlogiston like this.
  3. meggyd

meggyd Lead commenter