1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Learning Journal Advice please...

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by Miss.hendo, Sep 12, 2011.

1. Miss.hendo

Miss.hendo New commenter

Hello...

I hope everyone is having a good week back at work, is it really only Monday?

I am an experienced Ks1 teacher, however, i am new to reception this year as Foundation Stage Leader. i have just got to grips with planning (i think) but my next question is Learning Journals...

Do u lovely people put EVERYTHING in the childs journal or more of a selection of work, obs, and photos?

i am thinking of putting a selection into the journal and then having a whole class file putting any separate incidental 'post it' notes on a separate piece of paper stuck onto the 6 areas particular area of learning.

what do other people do?? (that is managable)

We have our ofsted visit this year and want to start on the right foot.

Thank u x

2. We put photos that show learning and then comment on them in the LJ and the learning they show.
    We put photos of important class/school events and scribe for children in the early days, later getting them to write about what the photo shows as a 'diary' of significant things during their reception year.
    We ask children to do specific tasks in LJ's, we sometimes send them home for them to do something in them with their parents.
    We let them put work in them that they are particularly proud of and then comment on why the child has chosen it from what they tell us, and we then put in why we think that piece is good too.
    We put in 'Wow!' sheets (which I've uploaded to my resources) on which parents tell us about their child's achievements at home.