1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Learning about War using music - meet Sabaton!

Discussion in 'History' started by LisaCopeHistory, Jun 17, 2020.

1. LisaCopeHistory

LisaCopeHistory New commenter

Hi guys,

I'm new to TES and just trying to work my way around it all. I'm currently setting up some free resources for history and wondered if anyone would be able to give me some advice please. Someone suggested I post this here as I initially posted in the staff room forum.

I work with a band who sing purely about historical war events. Here's some info on them:

Sabaton is a Swedish power metal band from Falun. The band's lyrical themes are based on war, historical battles, and acts of heroism[1]—the name is a reference to a sabaton, knight's foot armor. The armor and battle theme is heard in the albums Primo Victoria, Attero Dominatus, The Art of War, Coat of Arms, Carolus Rex, Heroes, The Last Stand, and The Great War in which most of the songs contain these motifs. Their latest album, The Great War, was released on 19 July 2019, with the songs all being based on World War I. Lyrical content drawn from World War I, World War II and other historical conflicts is prevalent and lyrics often recite stories of heroic deeds by men, women, and armies.

The band are so passionate about the topics covered in their music that they have created a YouTube channel where they break down the topics covered in each song. Here's some info about the channel: