1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

leading science in KS1

Discussion in 'Science' started by Mathsteach2, Apr 11, 2011.

1. Mathsteach2

Mathsteach2 Occasional commenter

Perhaps you might get more responses in the Early Years or Primary fora, jules_reeve, if this one is seen by most to be for teachers of secondary science and higher.

However, I am responding to your OP for two principal reasons. First, because as a secondary science teacher I have also trained primary teachers in science, I held a F/T post in a JMI school for science and A/V, and I have done quite a bit of supply work in infant and primary schools therefore I think I might have something to offer.

Second, and more importantly for me, I might get some feedback from other teachers about what I say and I am using your OP to test the waters, so to speak, if you do not mind. At least it might provoke some more reponses for you, leaving you to decide!

My own approach for Y7 students was to make science fully practical, child-centred and open-plan. As soon as possible, they had free access to all resources in the science laboratory, and the school grounds during their science lessons. They chose their own activities, gave presentations to the whole class, and sometimes we took them to Science Fairs where again they could display and demonstrate their work to a wider audience - parents and other schools.