1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Lazy teachers

Discussion in 'Tes Authors' Group' started by gregodowd, May 25, 2016.

1. gregodowd

gregodowd New commenter

I have been uploading resources on TES for nearly 10 years now. I started uploading resources because I wanted to share and hoped to find some good resources and ideas that I could use. Most of my resources are free but I also have a sizable number of 'pay for' resources. I have read all reviews of my resources and I have modified some based on the feedback from users. I have been surprised both pleasantly and unpleasantly by these reviews (thankfully more often pleasantly) but one truth remains. This truth is that the majority of negative reviews come from teachers who have contributed nothing to the resource pool. So, I ask the question, 'Are we breeding a group of lazy teachers who contribute little or nothing to the teaching community by allowing these people to piggy back on our hard work, dedication and selflessness?' I add that I have received some feedback asking for mark schemes to SEN worksheets and tests. Is this indicative of a poor standard of subject knowledge or pure laziness?

I have thought many times about opening a forum on these lines but I have always resisted but I now think that in a time when independence is being emphasized, quite rightly, as a key life skill for our students shouldn't the same apply to those people charged with developing those skills?

scrowther99 likes this.
  2. sabrinakat

sabrinakat Star commenter