1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Lazy Parenting or Standard Tactic for Managing Naughty Children?

Discussion in 'Personal' started by Eva_Smith, Aug 16, 2011.

1. Eva_Smith

Eva_Smith Established commenter

I was in the supermarket just now and a child was being, according to the parents, far too naughty. They were obviously bored and we just picking up jars and boxes to look at them and then putting them back.
    I was nearby and the mother snatched a box from the child and said, "Don't do that or that lady will shout at you!"
    I turned to her and said, "Actually, no I won't, because that's YOUR job" and walked away.
    This is not the first time I've come across this. When I used to work as a shop assistant, parents would regularly use this tactic to get their kids to behave. Why do they have to threaten their child with a stranger's wrath?
    Or should I be more sympathetic?

2. Eva_Smith

I was in the supermarket just now and a child was being, according to the parents, far too naughty. They were obviously bored and we just picking up jars and boxes to look at them and then putting them back.
    I was nearby and the mother snatched a box from the child and said, "Don't do that or that lady will shout at you!"
    I turned to her and said, "Actually, no I won't, because that's YOUR job" and walked away.
    This is not the first time I've come across this. When I used to work as a shop assistant, parents would regularly use this tactic to get their kids to behave. Why do they have to threaten their child with a stranger's wrath?
    Or should I be more sympathetic?

3. Msz

Msz Established commenter

so their child will still be their friend ..