1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Law degree is working against me!

Discussion in 'Thinking of teaching' started by essma1, Dec 6, 2018.

1. essma1

essma1 New commenter

Hi,

I am new to this.

I need some help and advice.

I graduated with a law degree in 2008 and since then I’ve been working in various Industries and I also have had gaps in my employment due to starting family.

My most recent work has been in schools mainly secondary, working as a cover supervisor.

I really want to qualify as a teacher either English or humanities.

But I don’t know where to start.

I have spoke to many agencies and education authorities who keep telling me that I am stuck in a tricky situation given the law degree as it isn’t a sought after subject ??

I really would like to qualify as a teacher but don’t know where to start, given my situation ?

I’d like to hear back from any law graduates who are now working as teachers.

I would like to know how you got in to teaching ie what route you took and what you are teaching now ?

Thank you :)

2. PGCE_tutor

PGCE_tutor New commenter

Are you certain that you want to teach secondary age? In primary your degree subject is much less important.

3. essma1

essma1 New commenter

I have primary as an option as I have been told that once i get my foot in the door ie the qts I am then able to move up to secondary ?

I would also like to get on to the salaried route via schools direct even then after speaking to academies, I’ve been told it’s difficult to secure a place unless you have been working at a designated school (one that works in partnership)

4. PGCE_tutor

PGCE_tutor New commenter