1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Late Nights and Laziness

Discussion in 'Education news' started by JosieWhitehead, Mar 10, 2016.

1. JosieWhitehead

JosieWhitehead Star commenter

http://www.bbc.co.uk/science/humanbody/body/articles/lifecycle/teenagers/sleep.shtml

According to this article, the teenager you are teaching first thing in the morning has a brain which is telling him/her that they should still be tucked up in bed, whereas during the evening and until 1 am their brains are ready for work. (See this article). I used to often teach teenagers from 7 pm until 9 pm in evening classes as I was an FE teacher, and without question they were all alert and working hard. I hadn't heard the word melatonin then, but do you think, perhaps, that afternoon study followed by an evening class might be the answer for teenagers?

2. Vince_Ulam

Vince_Ulam Star commenter

No. Logistics aside it doesn't seem to be a good idea to have children shifted outside of the social circadian for five years.

Limiting &or denying children social media & screen time while promoting physical exercise and the importance of timekeeping seems a far better idea.

3. hammie

hammie Lead commenter

why is timekeeping early in the morning more important than time keeping later in the day? When they enter the workforce, they are almost certainly not going into a 9 to 5 job. Most jobs are moving towards some sort of shift system, with anti social hours, late night opening, and so forth.
    Time for schools to actually read and react to all the evidence collated on how the brain works over recent years. Not just say that this is the way we do it, tough!