1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Languages National Curriculum Levels are completely irrelevant - what are your views?

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by cjenny658, Jun 5, 2013.

1. Hi all,

I am in my 4th year of teaching Languages (2nd year as Head of Department) and in our Faculty we find the NC levels completely irrelevant and are trying to get rid of them.

As a faculty, we cannot stand the fact that some students manage to get a level 6 by writing a very short paragraph containing all of the level 6 criteria (opinions, connectives, 3 tenses) whilst some students will write a full A4 page of accurate and detailed paragraphs displaying a great understanding of grammar concepts (plural, adjective agreement, use of different subject pronouns, irregular verbs, etc) and will only get a level 4 as it is all written in the present tense!

Furthermore, NC levels are not used in most private and international schools - there must be a reason for this!

As stated on the attached doc (part 12), we could get rid of the NC levels as well as FFT targets (which is already the case in some schools) in September 2013.

My Headteacher said he would consider my request if I can present him with a new way of assessing and reporting students' attainment and progress.

I have quite a few ideas but would like to know what other Languages teachers think?

2. curlyk

curlyk New commenter

Could not agree more with the concept that NCLs in MFL have become a joke. Level 5 for committing to memory a few past tense phrases on paper , who decided that was right ? And as for sublevels , a total farce !!