1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Language choices for PGCE

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by morkee, Nov 12, 2011.

1. morkee

morkee New commenter

Hi there, I'd like to see what the general consensus is on what languages are best/good enough to offer at PGCE and in order to stand a good chance of finding a job afterwards.

Currently, I'm a student of French and Russian at university and I'm looking to apply for PGCE courses from next September. Of course with French I have nothing to worry about, but Russian is obviously a less orthodox choice and I worry that this may have become a barrier to getting onto a PGCE.

In my situation, what could you suggest? I am currently considering learning German (a language I've always wanted to know!) and trying to get to A-Level standard with that. Is this wise? What else should I be considering?
    Thank you very much

2. derekdalek

derekdalek New commenter

I'm afraid I dont agree with Stuart. Spanish/French combination seems to be what schools want.
    Personally, I'm all for German being taught, even though I dont speak it. I'd love to be able to study it but I've no time to learn.
    Many local schools near me (Im in the southeast) have either dropped it in favour of Spanish or are planning to.
    The only places that seem to want anything other than French, Spanish and a little bit of German are in the private sector.
    Good luck with your application.