1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

lack of observations

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by Thelastchancesaloon, Apr 3, 2011.

1. I'm in my 2nd placement, having returned to a PGCE after a disastrous first placement in 2009 where I had a terrible mentor relationship, was given virtually no support and only ever received negative comments, leading to me suspending my studies while I got myself in a better state to continue. One of the constant issues was that my mentor refused to observe me more than once a week despite me telling her the uni required more frequent observations. Academically I was doing really well and still have no concerns there. In between returning to PGCE I worked as an unqualified teacher and loved it - so I know I can do the job.