1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Kuwait visa - beware!

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by m_alamin_we, Aug 26, 2020.

Tags:
  1. m_alamin_we

m_alamin_we New commenter

Anyone thinking of teaching in Kuwait should be aware that you may not get a visa if your degree does not match the post you're applying for. I have a BEng, MSc and PhD in electronics engineering but was denied a visa by the Ministry of Education for a teacher of physics role. They wouldn't even consider me for a general science role. I have taught physics in the UK and have no issues with subject knowledge. I was told by my school that 3 other teachers were denied visa. I don't know which roles they applied for. To be fair to my school they tried to convince the Ministry but to no avail. I wish I knew about this or did more research. I learned it the hard way. Hope others don't have to.

2. percy topliss

percy topliss Established commenter

Do you have a teaching qualification?

taiyah likes this.
  3. m_alamin_we

I do- PGCE +QTS

4. february31st

february31st Established commenter

It could be a Nationality issue, but in Kuwait you never Know!

Give me a PM in a week as I my hear of schools who would bend over backs wards to attract a PhD qualified Physics teacher!

m_alamin_we likes this.
  5. norwichred

norwichred Occasional commenter

Errrr, firstly no visas are being issued for ANYONE at the moment. So how could teachers have been turned down? That’s the first thing.