1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Kuwait: School refusing to pay wages, do I seek legal advice?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by MissHenderson96, May 6, 2020.

1. MissHenderson96

MissHenderson96 New commenter

I work for a school in Kuwait as a teacher, I decided to leave this year and therefore, handing my notice in November and accepted a new job in Thailand in the January. When I signed by new contact with the school in Thailand the original School dates were still in place and the summer holidays were scheduled to start June 20th.

As the ministry have now said that those children who have not completed e-learning must attend school in August. My Kuwait School is now claiming force majeure and have told leaver staff that if they are not in Kuwait in July they will not get paid, if they do not return to work for the month of August they will not get paid their August salary, gratuity, flight allowance or have any of their flat deposit returned. All in all about £7,000 if I get my July pay.

Can they legally do this?
    Is anyone else who works internationally having an issue like this?

2. dumpty

dumpty Star commenter

Unless it is stipulated in the contract re force majeure then I would say no.

Having also worked in international schools (mainly Asia) I would advise trying to keep calm and plug away but with an acceptance it could end up cheaper letting it go than fighting it unless - to be fair - the Kuwait system has easy access law offices for you to go to.

Just keep returning to and reminding them of the actual contract. Normally if something is not in it, it cannot be added later as they are trying to do.

agathamorse likes this.
  3. MissHenderson96